GROW YOUR GROCERIES

Thin, Thin, Thin !!!

(Did I mention thin?)

When I set up the container garden, I decided to take the 1st thinnings from the raised beds to plant in the containers, in order to optimize what had already grown.  I didn’t want to waste all those good plants by just ripping them out and tossing them!

I’ve done a photo comparison to show you how that worked out.  These plants are all the same age; the photos on the top show plants that were uprooted and transplanted, the plants on the bottom stayed in the ground; note the size:

Spinach

Butter Lettuce

Watermelon

Cucumbers

I will be ripping out the plants in the containers today (that should take all of 2 minutes) and will be planting the seed starts I showed you previously.  Hopefully that will go better.

Yesterday I went to thin the butter lettuce, something I’ve been meaning to do for over a week, maybe over 2 weeks.  I was horrified to find that about 80% of it had rotted at its base, and that there were big green worms eating away at it.  I chastised myself for once again, seeing how the lettuce appeared to be so lucious, so healthy- doing it my way; and not thinning as I had been told.  It was going to be a great salad this weekend…

Didn’t have my camera with me so took some shots with my flip phone…

Rotting lettuce pulled from ground.  Yummmmm!!!

These are the worms:

I suppose I’ve learned that it is actually wasteful NOT to thin and toss.

Today I will be a pluckin’ and a thinnin’ – carrots, corn, beets, onions.

This entry was published on July 4, 2012 at 10:27 am. It’s filed under Gardening, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Thin, Thin, Thin !!!

  1. Debbie Cameron on said:

    I’ve wondered about that before, and usually toss my thinnings, unless I can find a few that have some soil still clinging to the tiny roots.

Leave a comment